Freedom Friday -Believe In… Something

“Was it easier said than was actually done? Do you even believe that? Do you even believe that there’s a race to be won?”

Firstly, I’d like to offer my thanks to Hollie, who has driven me to write this blog post. I sure didn’t think that three months on without an entry I’d get a message encouraging more. I was writing this blog mainly for me, and it’s easy to forget that some people might actually read it occasionally. Hah. Anyway, I appreciate the love.

The theme of this post is kind of fitting actually, given my lack of posting. I find that it’s so common for me to be saying that I’ll do something, and then I never seem to get around to it.

“If you sweep up this mess I’ve created, nothing’s left to show I existed”

And I’d like to think it’s because I forget, or that I’m busy, but honestly motivation seems a lot harder to come by these days. Sometimes it feels like two steps forward, and then… that’ll do. I don’t tend to go backwards, but progress comes slowly, if it ever comes at all.

Existential Dread

However! Two things are reasonably new, and have actually gotten under way. The first is that I bought a car finally. I feel like it’s a pretty notable event, because it’s that whole independence deal, you know? I wasn’t too enthusiastic about buying one cos money and shizz, but it’d be stupid not to enjoy the benefits. That being said, I still walk all the time, cos it’s almost like a type of meditation for me. Oh, it’s a green Ford Fiesta Zetec from 2009, if anyone was wondering. 4 doors, cos I’m all about that practical game.

“Just like being in my own solar system…. doing good things, but then totally eclipse them”

The other is that my friend has started a company that focuses on casting E-Sports (video games, typically). I am the community manager for this project, so definitely check it out. E-Sport is growing super fast, because video games are heaps more popular than they used to be. So when the pros play, we make sure you know what’s going on by providing awesome commentary. We specialize in Dota 2 (made by Valve, on Steam, Free to Play). I’m also looking to expand my role to do some casting myself, so you might be able to watch me on Twitch soon. I guess the real question is whether that will happen, now that I’ve said it?

https://www.kaistudios.nz/

We’re also on Facebook and Twitter!

If you’ve enjoyed the lyrics spliced through this post, they’re from a truly excellent song: “Satellite Skin” by Modest Mouse. I’ve included the official video because it’s pretty interesting if you like abstract, bizarre style.

 

More posts to come! (Do you even believe that?)

Meister.

 

Leave a comment