Music Monday – Cruisin’ with Fire

“Let the music take your mind. Just release and you will find…”

“We’ve got a reason to be holding on, and tomorrow has become today”

I’ve got no idea what music I want to feature today, (I put the titles + lyrics in last) but I know I want to write a blog post. I also want to write one tomorrow as well actually, as I’ve had an idea for Tantalizing Tuesday for a while, so stay tuned for that!

Part of the reason I don’t know what to share is that I’ve been loving a lot of songs of late. I may even go completely left field and share two! I went on a 90s binge recently, and scoured the old charts to find some forgotten gems. In that endeavour, I ended up obtaining tracks by Shania Twain, Charles and Eddie, Ryan Cabrera, Collective Soul, and Lifehouse, among others. Most of those I downloaded (terrible?) but I did pay for two tracks: one by the Scissor Sisters (“Fire With Fire”) and one by Huey Lewis and Gywenth Paltrow (“Cruisin”, from the Duets soundtrack). Yep, those seem like good tracks for today. Songs worth paying for! Also, I encourage people to listen to the Scissor Sisters song, even if you don’t usually like that band. It’s rather different from their most famous songs, so definitely worth a shot.

Rain

Music aside, I wanted to share a few thoughts today. I find that sometimes that there are people that I’m so glad exist. People that I wish I was more like, and people I greatly admire. I think they’re absolutely amazing. Unfortunately, I also feel like society doesn’t lend itself too well to this kind of affection. I can’t display it without seeming…. odd? Some of these people I don’t know very well. Some of them I’ve only talked to a small amount, and yet they have had much more impact on me than they will ever know. This one guy I worked with was one of the nicest, most genuine people I’ve ever met, and I only saw him every few months. I’ve not talked to him in about a year, and yet here I am, thinking about him at 2am on a Monday night. It bites that I can’t ever tell these people how much I admire them for just being themselves… but truly, it’s a comforting thought to know that even without me telling them so, they are the same, good soul.

This week, I was offered the opportunity to actually tell someone how much I admire them in a way that wasn’t out of place. Possibly I could have done it anyway, because the person in question is a good friend, but it was still nice to be afforded the chance. The whole thing came about because someone said that people aren’t open and honest enough with others in the first place, and it’s hard to disagree. Not everyone is comfortable sharing things, but in matters of affection, I think people should be.

I included the official version of “Fire With Fire” because there are some bad versions out there.

Hold on,

Meister.

Leave a comment